Archive for February 26th, 2010

h1

Making Cattleyas

February 26, 2010

Is this the worst euphemism ever for making love?  What is a cattleya? (I think some research is called for!)

a cattleya

In Odette's Decollatage

So that’s what Swann is rearranging!  It seems rather ornate for one to be wearing along one’s bossom…but who am I  to judge?  (Along with Swann’s ginger mullet this book could be subtitled: Marcel’s Book of Fashion Don’ts)

According to Wikipedia this flower is of the order Asparagales …the same biological order for Marcel’s favorite green: asparagus.  Coincidence?  I think not.  What is that with that vegetable?

Well that’s one question answered…but many more remain (and aren’t easily searchable on Wikipedia).

Question 1:  Why did you tell me the action picks up in part two?  It seems to me to be the same old, same old…intricate metaphors and long asides on human nature.  Not that I’m complaining…some of it is quite nice (I am especially enjoying Proust’s descriptions of the effects of love on Swann) but I don’t think anyone is going to confuse this with a plot-driven page turner.

Question 2:  Does Odette eat at the Verdurin’s every night?  (Rude.)

Question 3:  Is Odette really stupid?  I can’t tell if she really is or this is some kind of French irony that I just don’t get.  Here’s a quote from M. Verdurin, “‘No, no, there’s absolutely nothing going on, and just between us, I think she’s making a great mistake and behaving like a real idiot, which she is, in fact.'”   However when we actually she Odette she seems pretty normal in the old brain department and I’ve already noted he ability to pepper her conversation with allusions to the Ancients.  That seems pretty smart to me.

Question 4:  What’s up with the asparagus?  (I can’t ask this question enough)

I know that you’re further ahead than me so I’ll look forward to your insight on these questions.

Until next time,

Jon