Archive for February 2nd, 2010

h1

Poetry vs Prose

February 2, 2010

Fiddlesticks!

Now there’s a exclamation! So, keep your phone holding, I will be fiddlesticking my way through the surprising, shocking, and frustrating.

Speaking of frustrating (Oh, fiddlesticks!), I too have been a bit derelict in reading of Swann’s Way. But I’ve decided it’s time to mend my errant ways and I’ve made a new month’s resolution (Hello, February!), which is to finish this book this month.

To that end, I’ve been spending my Monday evening reading away. As I’ve been reading I came to the realization that reading Proust is a lot like reading a poem. (Admittedly, a very long poem–without many line breaks.) It’s not something you can skim and or read half way otherwise you get halfway through a page long paragraph and you realize your in the middle of some flower imagery and you have no idea what’s going on. (Fiddlesticks!)

As I was thinking about this, I started thinking of some epic battle between Poetry and Prose, but in my mind it was being fought Spy Vs. Spy style. There’s Prose trying to pull a fast one on Poetry only to find that Prose’s cleverness is its own undoing. (Ahh…sweet irony.)

And that’s when I re-engaged with the book and found myself in some extended wordplay on “music making.” I am sure it’s funny, but it’s lost on me. Fiddlesticks, indeed.

Okay, I’ll focus and try to come up with something a little more thought-provoking next time.

Ta,

Justin