h1

The Unique Sadness of the Unicorn Man

May 8, 2012

That character that you (mis)translated as a unicorn, was in fact Marmeladov.  Don’t let his seemingly joyous sounding name fool you, for far from being a mythical, single-horned equine, he is instead, The Saddest Man In The World.

Your “unicorn” is an inveterate alcoholic, he’s drunk his family to penury–not once, but twice!  This has resulted in a daughter who has turned to prostitution and a wife whose love has evaporated.  Oh how I wish for a hovercraft sub-plot a la Back to the Future Part II (Or as I call it Just To The Future)!

I’ve spent some time pondering what role Marmeladov plays in the larger narrative and here’s what I’ve got as working hypotheses:

  • Perspective Fairy:  Marmeladov is there to show us (and Raskolnikov) that things could be worse.  Sure you didn’t get as much money for your pretty trinket at the pawn shop, but at least you aren’t forcing your loved ones to debase themselves for a kopek or two.
  • Humanity Mirror:  Marmeladov shows us that Raskolnikov is a good person…sure he’s thinking about murder via italicized adjectival nouns, but he’s not all bad.  He gives some of his much needed lucre to the Marmeladovs in their time of need.
  • Inveterate One-Upper:  We’ve all been there…you’re telling the story of your bad day and there’s that guy at the bar who, of course, has had it worse.  “Oh you had three meetings today, boo hoo.  I was  in meetings from 7AM til 8PM…and my daughter’s a prostitute because of me.”  “You‘ve got a busy weekend?!  I have to sit here all day and drink until my wife’s last ounce of love is completely gone…that’s what I’d call busy!”

…and I think he’s a symbol of purity and grace.

I hope your reading has more unicorns and hovercrafts…they sure do brighten up this book!

Jon

Leave a comment