Archive for March 6th, 2009

h1

Philosophical Waxing

March 6, 2009

As I’ve often said, “If you’re not waxing philosophical then you better be waxing my floor.” (Admittedly, I don’t really know what it means, but its one of those things that I like to say because I think it makes me sound smart like, “Quod erat demonstratum, dude!”–Did it work?)

Never fear though, Twin Brother, I too have been a bit distracted from my Brave New World-ing. In fact, I haven’t been reading much of anything lately. I’ve had a nasty case of Reader’s Block. I keep picking up books, and then proceed to put them down.

Here are a few of the books that have met that sad fate:

The Women by T.C. Boyle
The Blue Flower by Penelope Fitzgerald
The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie

and sadly…Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.

They all seem like good books, but just not the right book for the moment.

So finding myself a bit bookless lately, I’ve found solace in reruns of Scrubs, new episodes of Scrubs, Netflix, and more reruns of Scrubs. (Is it me, or is that show on TV all the time?)

Now that we both have clean breasts (by the way, I’ve never heard the phrase”breast cleaning” before–that was very PG-13 of you) perhaps we should get to the business of reading.

So, be Brave, try something New, and it will make a World of difference. (That was my rather pathetic attempt at subliminal messaging.)

Justin