Archive for March 18th, 2012

h1

I Am The Weakest Link, Goodbye!

March 18, 2012

Ever with my finger on the pulse of pop culture, I now know how the oafish lunk who fails to bank the money before inexplicably missing the next tartly worded, first grade-level question feels when meeting the glaring eyes of his fellow Weakest Link contestants. Only in this analogy banking is posting to the blog, and delivering the right answer is akin to finishing the book.

Perhaps this is a poor metaphor, but man, I just really miss Weakest Link.

In any case, what I am getting at is that I’ve been lax in my reading. I think you’ve hit the nail fairly on the head with this book. It’s not that it’s particularly bad, it’s just not terribly compelling. I find myself getting interested only to be inundated with “coracles,” “afts,” “starboards,” and “fo’c’sles” and somehow my interest wains. (Hard to believe, I mean up to now, I would have said that I was one of the world’s biggest fans of “fo’c’sles”…wait, maybe I am thinking of popsicles (in my head, these words are pronounced very similarly.) Which one is a ship’s forcastle and which is the frozen juice drink on a stick. Because I do not care frozen treats.)

But, I have a very few pages left and I will make it a priority to finish this up. C&P sounds downright intriguing. A little mystery, a little philosophical angst–who could ask for anything more?

For now, though, I remain the weakest link.

Goodbye.

Justin