h1

What Are We Supposed To Think of Lawrence Selden?

July 21, 2010

Is he supposed to mysterious? Rebellious?

Are we supposed to like him?

Why does Lily Bart have this undying attraction to him?

Because I think he’s kind lame. Actually, I take that back, I think he’s really lame.

Perhaps, it’s because I do not typically find myself attracted to male characters in literature, I don’t know. But at least I can usually get it. I can see why characters are attracted to them. Why others want them, and those that don’t want them want to be them. I get that Mr. Darcy is dreamy, I even see the draw to Mr. Rochester and his air of mystery is somewhat magenetic, but Lawrence Selden?

Meh. Even on his best days he’s only okay. And whenever I see the pendulum start to swing in his general direction he starts spout off profound-ish mumbo jumbo like this nugget towards the end of the book (that’s right I said near the end of the book):

“The difference is in yourself–it will always be there. And since it IS there, it can’t really matter what people think: you are so sure that your friends will always understand you.”

Oh, thank you Obi-wan. Next perhaps you can teach me the secrets of The Force.

And that my friend, is why what I think about when I think about Lawrence Selden is: Not much.

Oh, by the way, did I mention I am almost done with the book?

Justin

Leave a Reply

